• 15.02.2019
  • Annonce

CHIPP Prize 2019 announcement

CHIPP Prize 2019
Image: CHIPP, Switzerland
CHIPP Prize 2019
CHIPP Prize 2019 (Image: CHIPP, Switzerland)

The CHIPP Prize is to reward annually the best PhD student in Experimental or Theoretical Particle Physics. In the evaluation, emphasis will be given to the quality of PhD scientific work and to its relevance within the student's research group, as well as to novel ideas brought up by the candidate.

The applications are evaluated and assessed by the Selection Committee, at present composed of Gino Isidori (UZH, Chair), Aurelio Bay (EPFL), Alain Blondel (UniGE) and Ralph Eichler (ETHZ).

The announcement is sent to all CHIPP Members and follows the revised procedures as decided on 26 February 2016 by the CHIPP Board.

Previous winners and details can be found here.

  • Associations

Wins the CHIPP Prize 2018: Dr. Claudia Tambasco.
  • 29.08.2018
  • Annonce
  • Communiqué de presse

Claudia Tambasco honoured with CHIPP Prize 2018

In order for physicists at CERN to carry out their experiments for the understanding of matter, the large particle accelerator LHC must be operated with the utmost precision. Ensuring this precision both now and in the future was the overriding goal of a doctoral thesis that Claudia Tambasco recently completed at the EPFL in Lausanne. For this work, the young researcher was today (28.08.2018) awarded the prize of the Swiss Institute of Particle Physics (CHIPP) at a ceremony in Lausanne.
The CHIPP Prize winner 2017: Dr. Johanna Gramling.
  • 22.08.2017
  • Annonce

CHIPP Prize 2017 goes to Johanna Gramling

The experimental detection of dark matter is one of the great challenges of current fundamental research in physics. This year’s prize of the Swiss Institute of Particle Physics (CHIPP) is awarded to the physicist Dr. Johanna Gramling for her latest contributions to the search for this mysterious component of matter.
Mohamed Rameez, lauréat du Prix CHIPP 2016.
  • 23.08.2016
  • Annonce

Mohamed Rameez wins the CHIPP Prize 2016

The prize of the Swiss Institute of Particle Physics (CHIPP) 2016 goes to Mohamed Rameez. The 27-year-old neutrino researcher who just has earned his PhD at the University of Geneva has been awarded for his outstanding contributions to the IceCube Collaboration.
Porträt Lilian Witthauer
  • 29.06.2015
  • Annonce

Prix CHIPP 2015

Dans la célèbre pièce de théâtre de Johann Wolfgang von Goethes, le savant universel Heinrich Faust demande ce qui assure la cohésion interne du monde. En vue de trouver une réponse, Faust se voue même à la magie. Dans son doctorat, la physicienne de Bâle Lilian Witthauer se penche également sur cette grande question. Elle n'a pas trouvé de réponse dans la magie mais grâce à des expériences sophistiquées sur des accélérateurs d'électrons. La grande qualité de son travail scientifique lui a valu l'honneur de recevoir le prix CHIPP 2015 le 29 juin.
Marco Peruzzi
  • 02.07.2014
  • Annonce

CHIPP Prize 2014

ETH doctoral candidate Marco Peruzzi has been awarded the CHIPP prize 2014 at the CHIPP annual meeting in Fribourg. The 26-year old physicist of Italian descent analyses the so called diphoton decay in the CMS experiment at CERN. His research is a valuable contribution to a better understanding of the Higgs-particle.
  • 26.06.2013
  • Annonce

CHIPP prize 2013

On the occasion of its 2013 meeting in Sursee (LU), the Swiss Institute for Particle Physics (CHIPP) has awarded the annual prize for outstanding research in the area of particle physics. Martin Fertl (29) received the prize for his research on the influence of electric fields on neutrons, conducted at the Paul Scherrer Institut (PSI) in Villigen (AG).



c/o Prof. Dr. Rainer Wallny
ETH Zürich
HPK E 26
Otto-Stern-Weg 5
8093 Zürich